In this world of internet pages and passwords we can rack up lots and heaps of websites that need passwords. Sure you Could keep all your passwords on post-it notes, or on a OneNote page, but wouldn’t it be easier if you could automatically fill out those login details on your phone, on your computer, and tablet?

What does the App claim it can do?

From the website:

The password manager trusted by millions. At home, at work, or on the go, bitwarden easily secures all your passwords, passkeys, and sensitive information.

https://bitwarden.com/

The website goes further to this and claims that it’s easy, convenient and secure. You can generate, consolidate, and autofill strong and secure passwords for all your accounts, securely share encrypted information directly with anyone and securely store other sensitive information

Does the App REALLY do what it claims to do?

This is a big YES, the app is convenient, you can generate, consolidate, autofill passwords that are strong, and unique for each website. You can share your information and store other sensitive information that can be accessed using bitwarden apps on your other devices. I’m not a security expert and so I will never say for sure that a program is secure or not, but they claim that they have third party audits for compliance with GDPR, SOC 2, HIPAA, Privacy Shield, and CCPA standards.

Some things that you might not get on first look at the website is that the Android app is secured by password or biometric means. That’s right, if you have your fingerprint sensor working to unlock your phone, you can unlock bitwarden with the same finger.

What do I like most about the App?

Honestly, I love this app, I have the windows app on my personal PC, the Chrome extension at work and home. I have the Android app on my phone and on my tablet. This app is so very convenient it’s ridiculous. bitwarden is one of the first app that I install on any device, whether it’s PC or phone.

What’s not to like about it?

As much as I like it, it’s interface is pretty old school, it’s bland, blue and looks like something out of the 90’s. With material and other cool looking interfaces the bitwarden interface is dated.

What are the little niggles (What would make it perfect)?

OK, this is where I have to say, that I always stumble a little bit when I want to change or update a password. The “edit” button is often missed and I often forget that I have to edit, before I update the password. This is a good feature of course… but I think it’s the placement or icon… there’s just something about it that I am always missing and when I realize what I’ve done I do a facepalm and click the edit button.

Why did I decide to keep/remove it?

I keep it because it’s simply the best, free and convenient password manager that’s available. Sure you can get paid subscriptions for $10 USD a year for a premium, or $40 per year for a family, or company of 6 users. I keep it because I don’t have to think about passwords any more.

Would my wife use it?

My wife uses it, though she still has a text file with many of her passwords, she’s transitioning.

Version Reviewed

Version: 2024.1.0