screenshot-5
Android Assistant Home Screen

Before All-In-One Toolbox there was Android Assistant – for me. When I was using my first Android device I knew straight away that, it like any computer, would fill up with unnecessary files and cache’s making it slow. I looked right away for something like a toolbox that would help me keep my system clean and mean. I found Android Assistant. It was simple, had almost everything I needed and it was functional.

What does the App claim it can do?

The app authors claim that “Android Assistant is one of the most powerful and comprehensive management tools to improve your android phone’s performance.

Straight from the App Store we get the following list of features:

  1. Monitor status (CPU, RAM, ROM, SD card, Battery)
  2. Process Manager (Auto Boost and Quick Boost can distinguish different types of processes thus will not kill fatal system processes and apps in Ignore List.)
  3. Cache Cleaner
  4. System Clean(Cache, Thumbnail Cache, Temporary File, Log File, Empty Folder, Empty File, Browser History, Clipboard, Market History, Gmail History, Google Earth History, Google Map History)

    screenshot-6
    Android Assistant – Move to SDCard
  5. Power Saver(Bluetooth, Wifi, Gps, Auto-sync, Auto-rotate screen, Haptic feedback, Screen brightness, Timeout)
  6. File Manager
  7. Startup Manager
  8. Batch Uninstall
  9. Battery Usage
  10. Volume Control
  11. Phone Ringtone
  12. Startup Time
  13. Startup Silent(Menu->Settings->Startup Silent)
  14. System Info
  15. Widget(Quick Booster[1,4], Shortcuts[4])
  16. App 2 SD: Get more free internal phone storage space
  17. Batch Install
  18. App backup and restore

It’s quite a list and comparable with the list from All-In-One (AIO) that I reviewed a while ago. 

What do I like most about the App?

The app is smaller than AIO and doesn’t have as many intrusive adds. Don’t get me wrong, the adds are still there, just not as in-your-face.

I also like the way Android Assistant shows all your information on one screen. The important links are right there, where you can get to them.

The system information is quite good, there’s no need to dive into the phones settings to collect information.

 

screenshot-7
Android Assistant – Toolbox

What’s not to like about it?

The “Quick Boost” isn’t quick. It’s actually very, very slow in comparison to others. The app developers have taken a very odd definition of the word. What they’ve done is taken you to a screen of icons which represent each of the apps that AA is going to close, then present you with fancy destructo-animations while it closes each one. This in my opinion is counter productive.

One other issue is the Apps2SD. Once upon a time you could select each app that you want to move and the app would do them one after the other once you’ve hit a “Go” button. Now you have to move one at a time, no allowance to select multiple apps. This isn’t necessarily a deal breaker since once you move an app you typically don’t do it again.

What are the little niggles (What would make it perfect)?

I guess I haven’t looked at the niggly things about this app because the two things I don’t like are a bit glaring.

Why did I decide to keep/remove it?

I started using it again on the DUOS because of the battery issues I was having, now that I have the Samsung Galaxy S5 I might remove it because I actually prefer AIO.

Would my wife use it?

My wife probably wouldn’t use it since AIO suits her needs at the moment. I think the home page of AA and the slow “Quick Boost” feature would be a bit confusing for her.

Version Reviewed

Version: 23.29 build 119

