OficeSuite7 Home Page
OficeSuite7 Home Page

I first tried Office Suite 7 about 2 years ago when I had my first Android phone. It was one of the office apps that I tried before Kingsoft Office. My first preference was an app that I could view PDF’s and edit doc files. So today I’m going to re-install the app and see if I would change my mind about Kingsoft over it for my preferred Office suite. Keep in mind though that for the present I want to compare apples with apples and therefore I’ll only review the free version of OfficeSuite 7

What does the App claim it can do?

Well, the makers of OfficeSuite 7 say that their app is the No 1 office suite application available on the play store that’s free. They say that there’s 55,000 new users every day and that there’s 120,000,000 people that have this application installed. They claim that OfficeSuite is the only office suite that can convert PDF’s to Word, Excel or ePUB files (available in OfficeSuite Premium).

OfficeSuite 7 free had a nice list of features including:

  1. The ability to view, create and edit complex Microsoft Office and PDF files and attachments
  2. Full compatibility with Microsoft Office files including the macro versions DOCM, XLSM, PPTM and PPSM
  3. If you buy support for the OpenOffice formats you can do that also in the app
  4. Integrated File Manager so that you can get to your files easily
  5. Spelling Checker
  6. Cloud Storage and sharing Integration

Does the App REALLY do what it claims to do?

Well, I started the app and tried to create a new word document. A pop up dialogue asked me if I wanted to install a program to scan and create a PDF. No, I didn’t want to do that, I wanted to create a new word document. After pressing cancel I couldn’t create a new word document because it kept crashing on me. I tried the same for a PPT, same deal. I couldn’t create a new PPT. I tried a spreadsheet and was pleasantly surprised that I could indeed create a spreadsheet. I could enter formulas and figures.

I tried to open a doc file from ES File Manager, but OfficeSuite 7 kept crashing so, I guess I can’t view or edit Word Document files. I moved on to try a PDF and it was able to load up a graphic heavy document which I’m pleased about. Navigation and zooming was smooth with only slight delays between pages as the graphics was loaded on my phone. I moved on to open up a spreadsheet and was able to view and edit the sheet that I loaded up which was again pleasing. In the spreadsheet I was able to perform basic formatting including text color, font, size etc. The options for formatting are quite limited and because of this I couldn’t really recommend this to anyone who wants to do anything half serious.

Something quite minor is that I checked up on the makers claim that this app was the No1 app for the business category on the Play store. What I found was quite interesting. The paid app was indeed the most popular, but this app, which is free is definitely not. The top business Office app was QuickOffice by Google.

What do I like most about the App?

I guess I like that it’s simple and if you know how to get around in android apps then it’s pretty easy to use.

What’s not to like about it?

It doesn’t really work, but let me put aside that the Word Processor and Power Point editor kept crashing on me, I even removed all data in App Information and restarted the program. I think I don’t like how this app is so very limited. Most of the features that other apps have as free this app requires you to pay for it. The formatting options are quite limited and really only allow for basic formatting.

What are the little niggles (What would make it perfect)?

There’s so much I don’t like about this app that the little niggles don’t matter.

Why did I decide to keep/remove it?

WPS (Kingsoft Office is so much better than this app it’s ridiculous. The free version of this app can barely be called a document editor. I will assume that the word and PPT portions of this app really do work even though they crashed every time I tried them. In all honesty I do not understand how this app deserves to be in the top 10 business apps on the play store.

Would my wife use it?

No, she likes WPS (Kingsoft Office)

OfficeSuite 7
