Maildroid email client combined email view
Maildroid opens up to a combined view showing your accounts and unread email count.

What’s an Android smartphone that is only a phone? I like to think of it as my mobile communication device. What’s a communication device without access to all your email accounts? Through time I’ve amassed a number of email addresses for various reasons. One of the first email addresses I ever got was with a company called TPG when Dialup Internet was king. I still use this one even though I don’t have internet with them any more. Every Internet Service Provider (ISP) gave me a new one, some no longer work. I like shopping for ISP’s so I don’t rely on the email addresses from them so I got myself a Yahoo email address. Followed by Hotmail, Gmail, My online email client Zoho has an email address. At last count I had about 9 email addresses, some of those I actually use. I use my ISP address for businesses, my GMail for personal business and some friends, my yahoo for friends, my TPG for junky type emails (like Facebook notifications) but I like to keep access to them. So when I went looking for a solution I found MailDroid. The most common client is K-9 so why did I choose Maildroid?

What does the App claim it can do?

The authors at Flipdog Solutions claim that “MailDroid has all the features you could want from a mobile email client” and it comes in two varieties, the Ad supported and Pro versions. The list of features is 21 items long its last claim is “Much More…”.

Maildroid has all the features you would expect in an email client such as WYSIWYG, support for multiple accounts that work on IMAP, POP and POP3 however Microsoft Exchange is not supported. They claim it will be added in the future but there’s no sign when. It has a Spam filter plugin, custom rules, spell checker, custom views and password protection. There’s a mobile view and a desktop view and it has been written with tablets in mind as well. Your IMAP and POP accounts can be synced automatically in Wi-Fi only or mobile data as well so if you really need your emails on the run there’s no problem. What is intriguing is the “Much More” feature, I like features like that, it’s steeped in mystery and adventure.

Does the App REALLY do what it claims to do?

Maildroid default email view shows the text only version. Images are not loaded.
Maildroid default email view shows the text only version. Images are not loaded.

There’s nothing that it claims that I’ve found that does not work. Keep in mind that there’s a lot of claims that I haven’t covered so far. One of the “Much More” features is a thing that is both good and bad. The feature in question is the preview mode. When you first open up an email it doesn’t load up the whole thing. Instead Maildroid first gives you the basics, maybe it’s just the top part or the text only version of the email where none of the images or formatting is applied. This is good and bad, it’s good if you’re using mobile data and only want to see the basics without loading all the data hungry photos that Aunt Sue sent you on-line but bad because if you’re new to this way of operating you might think that Maildroid totally sucks since you didn’t see the Domino’s Advert for extra cheap pizza’s for Thursday’s game. 

Maildroid has a great feature in that you can view your email in full screen view.
Maildroid has a great feature in that you can view your email in full screen view.

Another good “Much More” feature is that you can view your email in full screen mode so you don’t have the extra rubbish getting in the way of the family newsletter, or that email from SEEK listing out all the possible jobs that you’re not qualified to apply for.

Maildroid gives you 4 options to add a new account, Auto, Manual, import and Import Legacy Settings.

Setting up your multiple email accounts can be easy or hard, depending on whether the system is able to automatically set them up for you. If you’re a geek like me and know what POP and IMAP are about and what ports and servers are then you won’t have any real difficulties, otherwise, I hope that you have a geek friend/relative. Recently I’ve had to reset my GMail account in Maildroid because I enabled Two Factor Authorization for Google (if  you don’t know what that is, don’t worry). Once I set up an application specific password for Maildroid in my Google account I was able to automatically set up GMail through Maildroid, it was relatively easy. There was no need for me to manually set anything up. That’s not what I can say for some of my other addresses. Some of those needed to be set up manually and therefore I needed to get my hands a bit dirty so to speak with getting the server addresses, ports and SSL settings. There has been one exception, Yahoo. It might be because my yahoo account is so old that it’s on a weird server or that yahoo have really done some odd things to prevent Maildroid from connecting. One day I’ll sort the issue out, but it hasn’t so far been a 10 minute fix. In the meantime I’ve installed the Yahoo Mail app.

Maildroid gives you 4 options to add a new account, Auto, Manual, import and Import Legacy Settings.

What do I like most about the App?

I like the combined view where I get to see all my inbox’s in one screen and how I don’t have to have more than one email client (except Yahoo). If I don’t want to use the GMail App then I don’t need to use it. Once it’s set up it’s quite easy to use and all the icons are intuitive. The interface is quite friendly and you can easily tell between emails you’ve read, or not read. My favorite feature though, one that I haven’t mentioned so far is the ability to delete emails on the device AND the server. I think that this is the best feature. It means that, in the event that I log into GMail on the web, I don’t have to see all the Youtube alerts that clog it up, I’ve already seen them on my phone, and discarded them.

 

 

What’s not to like about it?

Well, I guess I don’t like how it can’t automatically pick up my Yahoo account, but apart form that I haven’t had any reason to look for something else.

What are the little niggles (What would make it perfect)?

Exchange support is needed. Without this I cannot really recommend this for people who live in the Windows world.

Why did I decide to keep/remove it?

I’ve kept it because, for me, it ticks all the boxes and just works. I’ve recently looked at other options and there are others out there that look more pretty I’m sure, but I like the simplicity of this app.

Would my wife use it?

My wife would probably not use this app, even if she had more than one email account. If there was a need and she had loads of email addresses she might ask me for an email client but she couldn’t set it up herself. The set up of this app is a bit complicated if it isn’t able to automatically detect the email settings.

 

