QuickPic - Normal View
With the albums I normally hide I only see about 9 albums

How many times have you started up Gallery only to have some advertisement image or browser cache items show up? I noticed this almost straight away. Throw in all the album covers to my music folders and what I got was a wall of albums that were rubbish. Straight away I went looking for something that I could use to hide those albums. There’s many way’s to do this, at first I started using an app called “Gallery Excluder” but I went looking recently for a better gallery app that had the feature built-in because all sorts of new nuisance albums were showing up. And then I found QuicPic.

What does the App claim it can do?

The best photo gallery and picture browser&viewer in Android” says the play store entry. With almost 190 thousand people giving it an average rating of 4.7 it’s pretty clear that most people say that it’s really good. But what can it do. Well, apart from the obvious it can also hide and exclude folders, do slick slide shows, respond quickly to large collections and it doesn’t have advertising. Let’s be honest, a gallery app normally doesn’t have to save the world or perform magic and this one doesn’t do either of those things. It shows photos and allows you to do all the standard stuff that you’d expect like pinch and zoom, set wallpapers and crop images. It’s all those little features that give it the 4.7 rating.

Does the App REALLY do what it claims to do?

QuickPic - All albums shown
In Android’s normal Gallery app I’d see a whopping 49 albums from various apps that store photos on the SDCard

Does it show photos, yes, hide photos, absolutely. Slide shows are a breeze and it can do simple photo edits. It can do everything that the Android gallery can and more without any pesky advertisements.
If you notice there are two methods you can use to ‘hide’ galleries, one is to ‘exclude’ and the other is to ‘hide’ them. Excluded galleries don’t show up in QuickPic, hidden galleries are hidden from every photo related app. If you hide pictures from your music collection they won’t show up in any app if you exclude them they won’t show up in QuickPic only. You can apply a password to all the hidden folders so that you can’t just un-hide those private albums. This can be handy though they will still be available through any file manager so if you have some photos that you just don’t want people to get access to find another app.

Photo editing is really basic so if you’re a photo buff that likes to put effects and filters on your selfies or landscapes then don’t look to this app. Editing is limited to rotation, cropping and re-sizing.

What do I like most about the App?

QuickPic in Landscape view
The app is able to go into landscape view as well.

I like the slideshow but to be honest I only tried it out for the review. The real standout though is the ability to hide albums. This is where QuickPic really makes other apps look stupid. Stupid only because it’s a simple feature that is really easy to carry out. I seriously don’t understand why it doesn’t come standard, it’s like nobody at Google understand that the gallery has to run on a device with other apps that use pictures.

What’s not to like about it?

I’m drawing a blank here. It’s a simple app for a simple application and I’m giving it a rating of 5 on the store.

What are the little niggles (What would make it perfect)?

Not a great editor. All the quick and easy functions are there but it could be developed.

Why did I decide to keep/remove it?

No other gallery app offered the ability to hide folders free and as easy as QuickPic does so I kept it. Sure, there’s other apps that hide the pictures you don’t want to show to Aunt Flo but this one is gold. If you haven’t tried it do it today.

Would my wife use it?

At the time of writing this review my wife doesn’t use this one but she is tired of looking at the images from all her apps that have been moved to the SDCard so I think I’m going to ask her to try it out today to give you all some feedback.

OK, My wife has now used it and though she didn’t quite understand the difference between hiding and excluding she’s happy that she can’t see the clutter anymore.

QuickPic on Google Play

